MONOGRAPH

»CRISTINA BARROSO
... eine Karte aus Seele gemalt« von Michel Nungesser

Die Titel ihrer Einzelpräsentationen sprechen für sich: "Ortswechsel", "Secret Mapping", "Novas Terras", "Maps to Somewhere Else", "Map to Nowhere", "Welten", "Locating", "Urban Network", "Quest for the Universe" und zuletzt "Beyond tomorrow-claiming: Landscapes of uncertainties". Es geht um Bewegung und Reisen, um Städte und Länder, Kontinente und Kosmen, Karten und Pläne, um Neues und Unbekanntes, um Erforschen und Sich-Orientieren. Cristina Barroso ist Künstlerin und an vielen Orten zuhause. Sie lebt den ständigen Wandel und lässt ihn für ihre Kunst fruchtbar werden. Geboren wurde sie 1958 in São Paulo – Millionenmetropole in Südamerika, multikulturell geprägt, industrieller und wirtschaftlicher Motor eines Landes – Brasilien –, das kontinentale Ausmaße hat. Doch Barroso hat als Kind der Mittelschicht, geschützt durch Mauern als Zeichen sozialer Segregation, die Stadt nur schemenhaft erlebt. So wollte sie, als die Eltern fortzogen, nur noch "weg von zu Hause", wie sie sich erinnerti. Eine erste Rückkehr als  Internatsschülerin scheiterte. Erst nach einem Jahr Aufenthalt beim Onkel in Chicago zum Englischlernen kehrte sie mit 19 Jahren zurück, um nun am Leben 'ihrer' Stadt teilzunehmen.


1978 studierte Barroso Philosophie und Geschichte an die Southern Illinois University in Carbondale, 1980 bis 1983 Malerei am San Francisco Art Institute. Sie arbeitete als Korrektorin bei Lapis Press, einem Verlag, der Sam Francis gehörte. Beeindruckt war sie u.a. vom Werk Philip Gustons, Robert Rauschenbergs und Jasper Johns'. In den 1980er Jahren verfügte sie über Ateliers in San Francisco, São Paulo, Mailand und Berlin. 1992 bis 1994 erhielt sie das Atelierstipendium Helmut Baumann in Göppingen und zog nach Stuttgart. Zahlreiche Aufenthalte als Gastkünstlerin und Teilnahme an Workshops folgten: 1997 bis 2000 Aktionsforum Praterinsel in München, 1999 Center of the Arts in Jerusalem, 1999-2000 Villa Waldberta in Feldafing, 2013 Marma Art Projects in Berlin und Haus der bayerischen Landwirtschaft in Herrsching am Ammersee. Provinz und Metropole, Zentrum und Peripherie wechseln sich ab – doch welche Bedeutung haben solche Unterscheidungen noch in Zeiten ständigen Austauschs und fließender Datenströme?


Doch Cristina Barroso durchlebt reale Ortswechsel, keine virtuellen, angetrieben von der Neugierde, die wohl viele der "Sampas" auszeichnet, wie man die Bewohner von São Paulo nennt, einer Einwandererstadt par excellence. Barroso findet nach Studium in den USA und einem längeren Italienaufenthalt, wo ihr Arte Povera, die Transavanguardia oder Arte Cifra und besonders die Malerin Dadamaino (1930-2004) nachhaltige Eindrücke hinterlassen haben, erste Resonanz in West-Berlin. Dort herrschte Ende der 1980er Jahre ein großes Interesse an Kunst aus Brasilien, getragen u.a. von Barrosos damaligem Galeristen Rudolf Schoen, dem Interessenverband Berliner Kunsthändler und über mehrere Jahre von der Staatlichen Kunsthalle Berlin – maßgeblich unterstützt von der Deutsch-Brasilianischen Kulturellen Vereinigung.ii


Schon früh entscheidet sich Cristina Barroso für eine Malerei, die nicht nur auf der leeren Leinwand stattfindet und von der Spur des Pinsels getragen wird, sondern sie nutzt immer wieder wechselnde Bildträger, zum Beispiel Einladungskarten von Ausstellungen (als vergrößerte Lichtstrahldrucke), Fahrscheine und besonders Land- und Himmelskarten aller Art, und überträgt mit eingefärbten Schablonen und vor allem Kunststofffolien durch Applizieren die Farben auf die Leinwand, um bestimmte Konturen, Raster und Raum suggerierende Schichtungen zu erreichen, teilweise auch durch Hinzufügung von Sand, Salz, Schellack, Asphalt oder Wachs. Dieses objektivierende Verfahren wird zum Gestaltungsprinzip, in dem Planung und Zufall, rationale Überlegung und emotionaler Zugriff sich die Waage halten.


Um 1990 zeichnet sich ihre Malerei (meist Acryl oder Mischtechnik auf Leinwand) vor allem durch abstrakte, aber lebendig strukturierte Farbhintergründe aus, vor denen umrisshaft Gegenstände und Zeichen auftauchen: archaische und alltägliche, geometrische und architektonische: Leitern, Pyramiden, Kreis- und Ovalformen, Gefäße aller Art, aber auch Vegetabiles. Diese offene, malerisch begründete Symbolik erhält in den übermalten Vernissagekarten durch sichtbare gebliebene Text- und Bildfragmente weitere assoziative Spannungselemente. Mit der Zeit gerät für Barroso die Auseinandersetzung mit menschlichen Ordnungssystemen ins Zentrum ihres Schaffens. Sie finden ihren Ausdruck in Zahlen, geometrischen Körpern, Rastern, Netzwerken und Markierungen aller Art, wie sie vor allem für die Kartographie gültig sind. Wer viel reist, wer unterwegs ist, zwischen den Kulturen lebt, weiß um die Faszination von Karten und Atlanten, von Stadtplänen und Globen, die Versuche darstellen, Koordinatensysteme für unsere Existenz in Raum und Zeit zu konstruieren, die nie exakt mit der Wirklichkeit übereinstimmen und immer auch Machtanspruch und Beherrschung signalisieren.iii


Frühe Beispiele für die Verwendung von Zeichen, die terrestrische, aber auch planetarische Territorien andeuten, sind Bilder wie "Network" und "Satellites", beide von 1992. Häufig setzt Barroso Sternbilder über die Pläne von Städten, zum Beispiel in "München" (1998), oder kombiniert Kartenstrukturen mit denen von Magnetfeldern oder Fingerabdrücken. Diese Verbindung realisierte sie auch in zwei Kunst-am-Bau-Arbeiten, 1997 und 1998. Sie malte für das Bayerische Landesvermessungsamt München die fünfteilige Arbeit "Magnetfelder", im Treppenhaus über fünf Stockwerke verteilt aufgehängt. Ihr zweites, vierteiliges Werk für das Foyer des Polizeipräsidiums Neuperlach-Süd, ebenfalls München, mit dem Obertitel "Schaltzentrale" zeigt über die über Karten von vier Münchener Stadtteilen gemalten Bilder "Gehirn", "Baum", Fingerabdruck" und "Netz". An Stelle von Karten treten auch Luftbilder von großen Städten, meist das heimatliche São Paulo, die wie sich endlos ausbreitende architektonische Gebirge aufragen, und durch Überlagerung von anderen Strukturen, so in "Constructed City" (2001) und "Urbanes Licht" (2003), konterkariert werden.


Mit Zahlen und Karten als wesentlichen Bildelementen steht Barroso in einer breiten Tradition zeitgenössischer Kunst. So war sie an der Stuttgarter Ausstellung "Magie der Zahl"iv von 1996 beteiligt, die die große Bedeutung der Sprache der Ziffern als  Universalsprache für die Kunst seit Beginn der Moderne und vor allem in Zeiten der Digitalisierung und Globalisierung aufzeigte. Diese sind es auch, die Karten ins Spiel bringen: "In postmodern times, with all truths suspect, artists have found in cartography a rich vein of concepts and imaginery to mine."v So schreibt die auf US-amerikanische Kunst konzentrierte Autorin in ihrem Buch "The map as art"; sie lässt ihre "Timeline" bei Salvador Dalí und den Surrealisten einsetzen, aber erst im Heute wird sie wirklich fündig. "Map-making as a whole ist enhanced as each artist makes a mark on a bigger map, calling out, I AM HERE."vi Auch Barroso versucht, ihre eigene Identität zu finden, ihren Standort in dieser Welt zu erkunden, in der der einzelne Mensch sich oft verloren fühlt: "Wenn ich eine Straßenkarte neben eine Sternenkarte lege, wird mir die Dimension unseres Planeten bewusst. Das erdet mich und lässt mich auch die Spanne meines Lebens  in einem neuen Licht sehen."vii


Vermessung treibt Wissenschaft voran, basiert auf Zahlen, auf Tabellen, Gleichungen, Zählungen und Nummerierungen, produziert abstrakte Ordnungen und schematische Bilder. Kartographie dient Naturbeherrschung und Grenzziehung, blickt von oben, ebnet ein. Karten setzen Maßstäbe, sind zugleich zeit- und interessegebunden, veralten schnell, werden Geschichte, zeugen von Geschichte. Doch sie funktionieren nicht nur, sie weisen auch eine eigene Ästhetik auf und erregen die Phantasie. Hier setzt Cristina Barroso ein und betreibt ihre eigene Topographie, eine künstlerische, emotionale, persönliche, wie es der niederländische Schriftsteller Cees Nooteboom, mit dem Barroso seit vielen Jahren befreundet ist, einfühlsam in einem der Künstlerin gewidmeten Gedicht formuliert hat:

»Gradnetz, Schraffierung, Maßstab, der Zwang

der Koordinaten, Zauberwörter

für die Welt als Ding.

Ich aber geh mit der lebendigen Erde

von Flüssen und Watten, Buchten und Werdern,

die ich schreibend mir einverleibe.

Was ich wiederhole, bekommt mein Gepräge:

eine Karte, aus Seele

gemalt.« viii


Die Karten, die Cristina Barroso bearbeitet, beziehen sich auf Orte, die sie kennt, die Teil ihres Lebens waren (auch Post- oder Fahr-Karten sind Relikte gelebten Lebens). Sie übermalt sie, so dass Straßen, Flüsse, Städte oder Flughäfen (wie im gleichnamigen Gemälde von 2014) in den Hintergrund treten, nur noch fragmentarisch erscheinen, zu poetischen Zeichen werden und mit anderen Bildelementen in Beziehung treten. Auch wenn der Bildträger noch als schulische Wandkarte erkennbar ist, wie in "Brasil Global" (2015), entsteht durch Neukartierung eine fast tänzerisch anmutende, künstlerische Kontinentalverschiebung. Genaue Konturen und Wegvorgaben werden in Barroso Bildern aufgeweicht, Namen unleserlich, Grenzen verwischen sich oder erhalten, z.B. in "Country" (2008), vom Fingerabdruck ausgehend,  fiktionalen Charakter, bilden ein erträumtes, ein Wunschland. Oft dominieren leuchtende Farben, etwa in "Flughäfen" und "From Here to There" (beide 2015), als Ausdruck intensiver Gefühle. Es entsteht ein künstlerischer Resonanzraum, der eindimensionalen, scheinbar objektiven Sichtweisen erfahrungsgesättigte, subjektive entgegensetzt – nicht Ausfluss bloßer Mobilität, sondern Verausgabung vitaler Energien durch Aus-Malen und Ver-Malen, ein Über-Setzen ins Medium der Kunst.


Barroso ist schon in den 1990er Jahren mit Land-, Wasser- und Himmelswürfeln aus Karton ins Dreidimensionale übergegangen, in jüngster Zeit gestaltet sie heutige Megastädte als Collage von Luftaufnahmen auf Styroporbällen ("Cities", "Cidades", beide 2011), die, ähnlich chemischen Modellen, urbane Verbindungen aufzeigen. Oder sie formt  aus bemalten und collagierten Bändern und Kabeln Gebilde (z.B. die Serie "Roads to Everywhere"), die eher wie Karikaturen von Modellen aussehen – Chaosprodukte, der unverdauten Schnellfraß überschüssiger, permanenter Vernetzung. Auch Ton spielt eine Rolle, so in "Zeitzeichen" (2015) mit Lautsprechern auf einem Globus, der die Gleichzeitigkeit von Ereignissen symbolisiert und eine stets wandelnde Raum-Zeit-Struktur suggeriert. "Zeitzeichen II", wie ein Spinnennetz aufgespannte, blau übermalte Zeitungsfotos und Fotos früherer Begegnungen zwischen Cristina Barroso und Ben Patterson ist eine Hommage an diesen, aber auch eine Hommage an Fluxus, von dem Barroso einige Elemente, das Spielerische und Spontane, Kulturübergreifende und Grenzüberschreitende, in ihr Werk mit hat einfließen lassen.

 

[i] Cf. Ronald Grätz (ed), Minhasp. Mein São Paulo / Minha São Paulo / My São Paulo, Stuttgart: Edition Esefeld & Traub, 2013, p. 261.

[ii] Cf. Exhibition catalogue from Brasil Art. Berliner Galerien zeigen brasilianische Kunst, Berlin: Deutsch-Brasilianische Kulturelle Vereinigung 1990; exhibition catalogue José Roberto Aguilar - Cristina Barroso - Rubens Oestroem, Galerie Rudolf Schoen, Berlin, 1990.          

[iii] Regarding the siginificance of this theme cf. in particular the article by Karin Stempel, “Von der Strenge der Wissenschaft und über die Kunst der Kartographie”, in exhibition catalogue. Cristina Barroso, Wechmar: Kunstverlag Gotha, 1994, pp. 29-33.

[iv] Cf. show catalogue. Karin von Maur ed.), Magie der Zahl in der Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts, Ostfildern-Ruit: Hatje Verlag, 1996, p. 122.             

[v] Katherine Harmon, The Map as Art. Contemporary Artists Explore Cartography, New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 2008, p. 9.

[vi] Ibid, p. 16.

[vii] Quoted from Monika Unkelbach, “Die Nomadin. Die brasilianische Künstlerin Cristina Barroso”, in: Interkultur Stuttgart, October 2015, p. 20.

[viii] Cees Nooteboom, “Kartographie”, in: exhibition catalogue Cristina Barros. Koordinatennullpunkt, [Wechmar: Kunstverlag Gotha 1996, p. 5-8, here p. 8.

MONOGRAPH

»CRISTINA BARROSO
... a map painted of soul«, by Michel Nungesser

The titles of her solo exhibitions speak for themselves: “Change of Place,” “Secret Mapping,” “Novas Terras,” “Maps to Somewhere Else,” “Map to Nowhere,”, “Worlds,” “Locating,” “Urban Network,” “Quest for the Universe,” and most recently “Beyond tomorrow-claiming: Landscapes of uncertainties”. The works are about movement and travelling, cities and countries, continents and cosmos, maps and plans, the new and unknown, about exploring and orientation. Cristina Barroso is an artist and at home in many places. She lives in a state of continuous transition and makes it fruitful for her art. She was born in 1958 in São Paulo – a million-person metropolis in South America, the economic motor of a country – Brazil – with the dimensions of a continent. Yet Barroso’s experience of the city, as a middle class child, protected by walls as signs of social segregation, was one of limitations. When her parents moved away she only wanted one thing, she remembers, “to get away from home”.[i] Her first return to a boarding school was a failure. Only once she had spent a year in Chicago with her uncle to learn English could she return, now 19 years old, to take part in the life of “her” city.

In 1978 Barroso studied philosophy and history at Southern Illinois University in Carbondale; from 1980 to 1983 painting at the San Francisco Art Institute. She worked as a proof reader at the Lapis Press, a publishing house owned by Sam Francis. There she was impressed by, among others, the work of Philip Guston, Robert Rauschenberg and Jasper Johns. In the 1980s she had studios in San Francisco, São Paulo, Milan and Berlin. From 1992 to 1994 she received a full stipend from the Helmut Baumann Fund in Göppingen and moved to Stuttgart. Barroso has enjoyed numerous stays as guest artist and participant in workshops: from 1997 to 2000 at the Aktionsforum Praterinsel in Munich, in 1999 Center of the Arts in Jerusalem, 1999-2000 Villa Waldberta in Feldafing, 2013 Marma Art Projects in Berlin, and the House of Bavarian Agriculture in Herrsching on the Ammersee. Province and city, center and suburb come and go – but what is the significance of these differences in the era of the continuous exchange and free-flowing data stream?

Nonetheless Cristina Barroso has experienced real changes of location, not virtual ones, driven on by the curiosity characteristic of many “Sampas,” as the people of São Paulo are called, dwellers in an immigrant city par excellence. After completing her studies in the USA and a longer stay in Italy, Arte Povera, the Transavanguardia or Arte Cifra and in particular the work of the painter Dadamaino (1930-2004) made lasting impressions on her, and her work began to be recognized in West Berlin. In that city at the end of the 1980s there was a great interest in art from Brazil, encouraged by, among others, Barroso’s gallerist at the time, Rudolf Schoen, as well as the Interessenverband Berliner Kunsthändler (Association of Berlin Art Dealers), and, for many years by the Staatlichen Kunsthalle Berlin (Public Art Gallery Berlin) – represented by the German-Brazilian Cultural Association.[ii]

Early on Cristina Barroso decided to pursue painting that does not only take place on an empty canvas and is produced by the tracing of a brush, but she has often worked on various surfaces, for example, invitation cards for other artist’s shows (as enlarged color prints), train and plane tickets and, in particular, land and sky maps of all kinds, transferred with dyed templates and plastic sheets by means of application of colors on canvas in order to reach suggestive layers with particular contours, grids and spaces, in part by the application of sand, salt, shellac, asphalt or wax. This objectifying process becomes a figurative principle, in which planning and chance, rational consideration and emotional access are held in balance.

In 1990 Barroso’s painting (mostly acrylic or mixed media on canvas) was characterized above all by abstract but structured and lively colored backgrounds, in front of which there are sketchy objects and drawings, archaic and quotidian, geometric and architectural: ladders, pyramids, circles and oval shapes, all kinds of vessels but also vegetative forms. These open, painterly, grounded symbols on top of the painted-over invitation cards from openings juxtapose the textual and image fragments which remain as visible, elaborated, associative elements. In the course of time, Barroso came increasingly to place the issue of human ordering systems at the center of her work. These are expressed in numbers, geometric bodies, grids, networks and all kinds of markings as they are used in cartography. A person who travels often, who is on the road, and who lives between cultures, knows the fascination of maps and atlases, of city plans and globes which attempt to present the coordinate systems of our existence in place and time, but which never exactly correlate with reality and always signal a demand for power and control.[iii]

Paintings such as “Network” and “Satellites,” both from 1992, are early examples for the use of signs that point to the terrestrial but also planetary territories. Barroso often places star constellations on the plans of cities, for example in “Munich” (1998), or combines map structures with those of magnet fields or fingerprints. The artist realized these connections in two “Kunst-am-Bau” (“art-in-architecture”) projects from 1997 and 1998. For the Bayrische Landesvermessungsamt (Bavarian National Survey Office) in Munich she produced the five-part work “Magnetfelder” (“Magnet Fields”), which is hung in the stairwell over five floors. Her second, four-part work, with the general title “Schaltzentrale” (“Control Center”) is in the Police Headquarters in South Neuperlach, also in Munich. This work features pictures painted on the maps of four Munich city boroughs, “Gehirn” (“Brain”), “Baum” (“Tree”), “Fingerabdruck” (“Fingerprint”) and “Netz” (“Net”).

In some of her works the maps are replaced by aerial photos of large cities, usually her hometown of São Paulo, which extend like an endlessly spread out, architectural mountain range, counteracted by the superimposition of other structures, as in the works “Constructed City” from 2001 and “Urbanes Licht” (“Urbane Light”) from 2003.

Barroso uses numbers and maps as essential picture elements in her work and thus stands in a broad tradition of contemporary art. She participated in the 1996 show in Stuttgart, “Magie der Zahl” (“The Magic of Numbers”)[iv] which showed the importance of the language of numbers as a universal language for art since the inception of the modern period, above all in the digital and global age. This is also her impulse to bring maps into the game: “In postmodern times, with all truths suspect, artists have found in cartography a rich vein of concepts and imagery to mine.”[v] Katharine Harmon, whose work focuses on U.S. American art, has written in her book The Map as Art has written. This author begins her timeline with Salvador Dalí and the Surrealists, but truly strikes pay dirt in the contemporary period. “Map-making as a whole is enhanced as each artist makes a mark on a bigger map, calling out, I AM HERE.”[vi] Barroso, too, seeks to find her own identity, her own location in this world in which individual people often feel lost: “If I put a street map next to a celestial map, then I become conscious of the dimensions of our planet. This grounds me and also allows me to see the span of my life in a new light.”[vii]

Scientific investigation is driven forward by measurement, based on numbers, tables, relationships, counts and numbers, and productive of abstract orders and schematic images. Cartography serves to control nature and the drawing of boundaries, seen from above, flattens. Maps set standards and are, at the same time, temporary and tied to special interests. They age quickly, become history, and witnesses to history. But they not only function but demonstrate their own aesthetics and excite fantasy. Here is Cristina Barroso’s jumping off point; she conducts her own topography, of an artistic, emotional, personal nature, as the Dutch writer Cees Nooteboom, a long-time friend of Barroso, has sensitively described in the poem dedicated to her:

 

Grids, shading, scale, the constraint

of coordinates, words of magic

for the world as a thing.

But I go with my living earth

of rivers and marshes, bends and willows,

which I compose in my image.

When I retrace them I leave my seal,

a map painted

of soul.[viii]

 

The maps that Cristina Barroso uses are related to places that she knows, that were a part of her life (postcards or tickets are also relicts of a lived life). She paints them over them so that streets, rivers, cities or airports (such as the 2015 painting “Flughäfen” (“Airports”) are pushed into the background or only appear as fragments, become poetic signs and are put into the context of other elements. Even in those cases where the image carrier can still be seen to be a schoolroom map, as in “Brazil Global” (2015), a new sort of mapping comes into being with a dancing, artistic continental shift. Exact contours and pathways are softened in Barroso’s pictures, names become illegible, borders fade out or are retained, as in “Country” (2008), beginning with a finger print, fictional characters create a land of dreams, a land of wishes. Often luminous colors dominate, as in “Flughäfen” (“Airports”), and “From Here to There” (both from 2015), as an expression of intensive feeling. An artistic sounding board comes into being, where the one-dimensional, ostensibly objective perspective is confronted with one saturated with emotions and subjective – not a product of simple mobility, but an overspending of vital energy via painting and overpainting, a translation into the medium of art.

Already in the 1990s Barroso began painting pasteboard land, water and celestial maps on cardboard boxes. These then made the transition into three dimensional cubes and, more recently, she has formed megacities as collages from aerial pictures on syrofoam balls (“Cities,” “Cidades,” both from 2011), which, similar to chemical models, show urban connections. Or she uses painted and collaged strips of paper and cables to create constructions (such as the series “Roads to Everywhere”) which look more like caricatures of models – products of chaos, undigested fast food from excessive, permanent interconnectedness. Sound, too, plays a role, as in “Zeitzeichen” (“Time Signs”) from 2015 with loudspeakers on a globe, which symbolizes the simultaneity of experiences and suggests a continuously transforming space-time structure. “Zeitzeichen II” (“Time Signs II”) stretches out like a spider’s web in blue painted-over newspaper photos and photos of earler encouters between Cristina Barroso and Ben Patterson is a homage to the Fluxus movement, from which Barroso has allowed certain elements, playful and spontaneous, trans cultural and stretching across borders to influence her work.

 

[i] Cf. Ronald Grätz (ed), Minhasp. Mein São Paulo / Minha São Paulo / My São Paulo, Stuttgart: Edition Esefeld & Traub, 2013, p. 261.

[ii] Cf. Exhibition catalogue from Brasil Art. Berliner Galerien zeigen brasilianische Kunst, Berlin: Deutsch-Brasilianische Kulturelle Vereinigung 1990; exhibition catalogue José Roberto Aguilar - Cristina Barroso - Rubens Oestroem, Galerie Rudolf Schoen, Berlin, 1990.          

[iii] Regarding the siginificance of this theme cf. in particular the article by Karin Stempel, “Von der Strenge der Wissenschaft und über die Kunst der Kartographie”, in exhibition catalogue. Cristina Barroso, Wechmar: Kunstverlag Gotha, 1994, pp. 29-33.

[iv] Cf. show catalogue. Karin von Maur ed.), Magie der Zahl in der Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts, Ostfildern-Ruit: Hatje Verlag, 1996, p. 122.             

[v] Katherine Harmon, The Map as Art. Contemporary Artists Explore Cartography, New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 2008, p. 9.

[vi] Ibid, p. 16.

[vii] Quoted from Monika Unkelbach, “Die Nomadin. Die brasilianische Künstlerin Cristina Barroso”, in: Interkultur Stuttgart, October 2015, p. 20.

[viii] Cees Nooteboom, “Kartographie”, in: exhibition catalogue Cristina Barros. Koordinatennullpunkt, [Wechmar: Kunstverlag Gotha 1996, p. 5-8, here p. 8.